Xero Shoes DIY Sandal Kit

Availability: In stock

£21.95
Xero Shoes available with 4mm Connect or 6mm Contact outsole for great "barefoot feel".
Rating
15 Review(s)

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 15 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Spot on bit of kit Review by Colin
Rating
Got interested in barefoot walking a few years ago and read a few books on the subject before I dived in and found theirs a transitional period for your feet and joints to get used to barefoot and the way you walk changes from walking heel to toe in footwear to walking toe to heel being barefoot so I decided on starting out with 6mm DIY Xero sandal with an Amuri toe hoop. I've been wearing Xero sandals and going barefoot now for past year they are extremely comfortable and hard-wearing and in that time they helped me transition from wearing shoes all the time to wearing shoes occasionally and going barefoot and wearing Xero sandals the rest of the time. (Posted on 19/11/2017)
Comfortable and amazing Review by Kris
Rating
Received my sandals super quick, used the brilliantly thorough and understandable how to guide to make my sandals . Within an hour of unpacking, they were on my feet and covering a tester 2km run. I'm new to barefoot running, but know I'm going to enjoy it in these brilliant sandals. Thanks. (Posted on 11/05/2017)
Great bit of kit Review by Helix
Rating
I am either barefoot or wear minimalist shoes all the time. I run fell races, ultras and do orienteering. I wanted something packable that would let the air at my feet and let my feet relax pre-race and recover post-race. I bought the 4mm DIY sandal kit. I love them. They do exactly what I want and let my feet spread out after a battering in races with rough terrain.

My intended use for them was to wear mainly on the walk to and from work the day after a tough race as my Inov8 Evo-Skins had worn through and I could not replace them as they were no longer made. Any aches from running over rocks used to be alleviated by this routine. The Xero sandals were much better being more secure around my foot, less sweaty and my feet felt more protected. This evolved into wearing them before and after a race to let my feet do what they wanted.

Now we have good weather I have been wearing them as my go to shoe. I find them brilliant for camping, light weight, packable, doesn't matter if they get wet and tough. I recently walked miles in them in North Wales on rough tracks and was perfectly happy. I even broke out into the odd uphill sprint and I was genuinely shocked about how good they felt. I didn't buy them to run in and I am not going to start running properly in them but if that is your desire then they seem up to the task - especially for the ardent barefoot runner.

The only draw backs I have found that it did take me a good 4 weeks of wearing them for 2-3 hours a week before they were comfortable but I haven't worn the likes of flip-flops for years so it was none too surprising. It took me a few attempts to get the tension right; I kept getting flapping or the thong between the toes was unbearable but I persevered and got it sorted after a few retying attempts. I like making things so watching the HowTo videos and reading the guides was half the fun to me but I could see that if someone just rushed into making them it would be very easy to make mistakes.

All in all a cracking piece of kit. (Posted on 26/07/2016)
Excellent for me and my 3 1/2 year old daughter Review by Maria
Rating
I bought the 4mm for both of us (me and my 3 1/2 year old daughter), and it was the perfect choice.
She has flat feet like her dad and now is the time to make those little feet work well. After 2 weeks of wearing I can already see her arch forming. seriously... (!)
I myself have been wearing barefoot shoes almost for 10 years now. My first pair was puma h-street, got 3 pairs of them. I actually used them to run the pose tech method of running, this is the way i learnt barefoot behaviour of the body.
(I had back ache issues from ever since I was a child). I managed to run 5km and be painless!
Then I found the New Balance Minimus Trail, also 2 pairs, then the new New Balance Minimus (much thinner lighter version), also 2 pairs of VivoBarefoot, a winter shoe and a leather shoe for more formal occasions and work.

Now, the summer is here and I can't imagine how i had been living without Xero Shoes all the past summers!

In Greece you have definitely 2-3 months where you wear open sandals because of the heat, so.... I feel saved!
I wear them all day and am happy that I bought 2 pairs straight away (one brown and one black).

The sole is really very good I must say. Non slippery, the outside as well as the upper side. Very resistant. And, do the bead when tying the sandals! Much better than a knot!

Barefoot walking is the best feeling ever, you dont need to be an athlete to use them. And after 10 years in barefoot closed shoes, wearing barefoot sandals for the first time, is an absolute pleasure for the feet.
Have tied them in a way that they look like very chic sandals and I get super comments on that and on my daughters sandals. The greatest thing is I can drop her of at school and go straight to my walking treadmill desk, without changing shoes. Juuuuuust like that! SUPER Xero Shoes! Keep going!!! (Posted on 09/06/2016)
Loving the Xero Review by Ciaran
Rating
I have been the proud owner of a pair of 4mm xero shoes for about 6 months. I've been wearing them for walking and general wear, and running in NB minimus. Finally took your shoes out for a run yesterday. I loved it. I felt so free and relaxed (after the first few awkward minutes!) Thanks for making such a great product. Where less is more, xero is best! (Posted on 15/08/2014)
I LOVE XeroShoes Review by Rokea
Rating
I chose the 4mm thickness as i walk totally barefoot during the summer months in varied terrain woods where I walk my dog for three hours a day and so was looking for something as authentic and close to nature as possible for those 'other' times.

As someone who simply loves to run with a smile on one's face and has always found it the most natural, fun and liberating thing in the world and for someone who has been a competitive runner in road races, I eventually suffered a 'banana-shaped' left foot through running in shoes over big miles. I have size 8 feet (ladies) that are very slender and could always feel them slopping around my shoes no matter how close i tied the laces and how many pairs of socks I had to wear - not good! So, I had nerve, ligament and muscle atrophy and it has been an emotional and physical frustrating journey up until the point that I decided to go barefoot - something I have always admired and believed in, but did not put into practice until I had to!

Through pure barefooting and XeroShoes I now have a very apparent arch in the making and the spring is returning once again and I can feel the refinement of movement in both feet and my toes are so much stronger and happy to be a part of the whole movement thing once again!

I had spent hundreds of pounds on minimalist footwear (not to mention physiotherapy and chiropractic treatment), but apart from the zero heel-toe elevation the tops of my feet still suffered and I still had the same problem of a shifting foot and my feet still couldn't express themselves fully.

XeroShoes are the closest barefoot experience that one can have. From personal experience, I rate them way above FiveFingers - I feel that brain-foot connection and expansion of my Awareness, hence Xero shoes are great for the sole as well as the soul :o).

They are the only 'shoes' that I don't want to rip of my feet in order to go purely barefoot!! (Posted on 27/10/2013)
These xero shoes are AWESOME!!! Review by Josh
Rating
These xero shoes are just awesome, to actually feel the ground under your feet instead of a tonne of cushion is a relief as well as looking great and interesting. If your looking at buying a pair then you must click checkout as you cannot go wrong for the quality and experience of owning a pair. My fiancee at first thought I was mad however now she is wanting a pair and trying to get mine! These are a must buy for any running enthusiast want to improve their running. (Posted on 08/08/2013)
Very happy Review by Lee
Rating
Ordered a pair of 4mm soles about 3 weeks ago. Already finished a half marathon in them and looking to go even further. I was a bit pessimistic to begin with but about 5 minutes into my first run I knew I was going to get along with them! I am now a barefoot convert and going back to my clumpy trainers is going to be impossible!
My first thoughts were 'I am going to stub my toes' - this hasn't happened and I have run on all sorts of terrain. I also thought the lace that runs between your toe will rub - it hasn't after about 40 miles in them.
I was so happy that I have bought a pair of 6mm soles as well plus a few other extras!
If anybody was not going to get on with these it would be me but I am very surprised how well I have taken to them.
I use them along side my Sockwa G3 when I am running on overgrown trails with stingers etc and what's best is that I wear my Xero Shoes to the trails then whip them off and stick them in my pack as their is nothing to them. I also wear them out and about so they are extremely versatile too.
Also for the price you cannot grumble, I am going to try to put the 5000 mile warranty to the test :-)
(Posted on 03/08/2013)
Wife thought I was mad... Little did she know! Review by Wilco
Rating
Received my Xeroshoes today and couldn't wait to put them together. I marked them out whilst my wife looked on me as if I was mad. Next I rigged the laces up and voila, I was ready to go. It is amazing how a 4mm bit of rubber  and some string can make such comfortable footwear! I absolutely love them, even though I've only worn them for 1/2 hr. My wife now loves them as well and wants a pair of her own. And no doubt when my kids wake up in the morning they'll want a pair as well! Thanks for such a wonderful revelation! (Posted on 03/07/2013)
Excellent Product and Service Review by JohnD
Rating
Hi, got my 'shoes' over a week ago, have them tied up using a method based on Sonja's as I like more points of contact and so there is no flip flopping about. Just getting used to them really and trying to walk quietly/softly now without banging my heels in. Taking some getting used to, I have even started walking differently in my 'normal' shoes! The service and quality of the shoes was really great, I would wholeheartedly recommend them and your company to anyone interested.

John (Posted on 24/05/2013)

Items 1 to 10 of 15 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register