Xero Shoes Amuri Venture

Availability: In stock

£34.95
Amuri Venture - Charcoal
Rating
12 Review(s)

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Bringing fun back into running Review by Steve
Rating
First impression was that these felt heavier than I expected; I normally run in Merrell Vapour Gloves which are wafer thin. I also had trouble with a bit too much noise when road running. I managed to fix that by trimming the width down a bit with a pair of scissors and adjusting the angles so the intersection between the two cords is close to my ankle rather that towards the toe ... perfect.

Now everything feels pretty good and these are fantastic fun to run in. Loving them.
(Posted on 18/08/2017)
Best barefoot sandals I've had Review by Dave
Rating
I've been running in huaraches/ sandals for a few years. I've had a pair of Luna Sandals - which were great - and some Vivobarefoot sandals - not so much. But these are the best ones yet - really comfortable and quick to put on with a mechanism that doesn't loosen while wearing. After four months there aren't even any signs of wear on the soles. And so much better value than the Lunas. These are really great barefoot sandals. (Posted on 13/04/2017)
Perfect for first timers Review by Ben
Rating
I have been running barefoot/ minimal for a year with help from the original DIY kit. They were a fantastic introduction for me. My only gripe was that, as I run mainly on roads, the straps would wear down very quickly underneath the sole. I wore through a set of laces every 100 miles.
But they proved to me that barefoot is the way to go. So I bought the Amuri Ventures last week as the straps are raised off the ground and therefore shouldn't wear down as quick. They are perfect.
I've only had one run - I threw them on today for a quick 10-15km to try them out and ended up doing 22km because they were so comfy- no aches, no blisters, the run was easy and light. Love them.
Easy to adjust, light, tough, comfy, cheap.
At around only 10 squids more than the DIY kit I would recommend buying the Amuri Ventures instead of the kit. You can't go wrong. (Posted on 27/11/2016)
Built for the long haul Review by Gonk
Rating
I decided to try the Ventures after having used the phenomenal Z-Trail sandals for the last couple of months for running (and everything else besides).

The plus points: To me the ultra simple form of the Venture looks better, they have reflective elements incorporated into the laces, and they are noticeably cooler still than the Z-Trail in hot weather.

Up until now I have run around 40km in them in addition to casual use. The 'ground feel' is excellent even on fairly rugged trails. The construction is every bit as excellent as I expected, these are stoutly built for the long haul.

I have had a couple of smaller problems with them: Although they are easy to adjust I found it difficult to find the sweet spot for running, they do not seem to lock onto the foot quite as well as the Z-Trail do and the flexible sole can 'flop' a little. Perhaps I overtightened them to compensate, but this has led to a bit of rubbing. The lower sole and more open construction can let more grit and dust to the feet, and this in conjunction with sweat did lead to some irritation at the toepost and on the sole at the front of the sandal.
In normal use the toepost is no problem although I am mostly aware of it. It's tough but soft synthetic rubber, it's not going to hurt you.

Putting those Z-Trails back on felt like donning boots though :) (Posted on 20/09/2016)
Great shoes and great service! Review by Mireille
Rating
Simon really helped me out to get the right size of these shoes.
And now they fit perfectly! I'm very glad I've ordered them.
Though I live in the Netherlands, I received the shoes very fast.
I wear these shoes all the time! (Posted on 12/05/2016)
My go-to footwear! The sandal I've been longing for! Review by Craig
Rating
I love sandals! The Amuri Venture is my first ever minimalist/barefoot sandal and I couldn't be happier! I wear them whenever I can and I'm going to try and keep wearing them throughout the colder months. I love the feeling of total freedom these sandals give. I do own a pair of Vibrams which are great but they just can't compete with the openess and breathability a sandal gives. I wore these for some hill sprints the other day and they held up just fine, there was no slipping around and they didn't hinder my performance in any way. The design is just plain awesome; sporty, trendy yet simple. I love that it's just some nylon cord and no bulky straps.

For anyone thinking of investing in a barefoot sandal, I highly recommend it and I highly recommend that you go with one made by XeroShoes. The customer service you get with this company is amazing, friendly and responsive! The website itself is great and I find myself frequently browsing it.

I'm already looking to get another pair and I've been eying up the DIY kits. :D (Posted on 06/07/2015)
Not as good as the basic Xeros Review by Kathryn
Rating
Xero shoes are great if you love to be barefoot. I had basic Xeros for a while before I bought these and since then I've passed these ones onto my sister and gone back to the basics, which I love.

I just didn't find the Amuri Venture so comfortable, and they hurt a little. I still give them a good four stars because I think they just didn't work for me due to having very narrow feet and maybe not getting the correct size - my sister loves them now.

I also think that there's no need for the extra heel back and rubbery bits. Simpler is always better for me.

Still, a good shoe. Just not as good as the basics for me :)

(Posted on 18/08/2014)
Fantastic shoes, fantasic service! Review by Charlie
Rating
I have been using these shoes for over a month now and I am really pleased with how they have improved my running technique. As part of my marathon training I go out in my Amuri Ventures once or twice a week and find I can easily do 5 miles on or off road. They are light and comfortable and your feet will be thanking you for the freedom they give. Take it easy to begin with and the rewards will be huge. If you can't run in these shoes then its your technique that's wrong!
The service from xero shoes is fantastic, super fast dispatch and great customer care. Had to exchange my first pair as I bought the wrong size, completely hassle free and fast turnaround.
(Posted on 13/05/2014)
Really comfortable footwear Review by Norfolk barefoot beginner
Rating
I love these shoes , as a middle aged man who used to love running . I am now experimenting with the barefoot technique, at the moment I have walked everywhere in these shoes of distances of 3-4km and feel my feet and legs getting stronger all the time . The long term goal is try and get back to running using these shoes, taking things slowly couple of mins every other day so far so good, great footwear. Thinking of purchasing another pair. (Posted on 23/04/2014)
Excellent! Review by Scottish Girl
Rating
Since a knee injury in traditional running shoes I have made the transition to minimalist/barefoot running. These shoes are so very close to barefoot and look great. The toepost took a little getting used to but worth the initial slight discomfort. Now I wear at every opportunity! (Posted on 11/04/2014)

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register